Our Team


Publisher
Dean Midyette
250-341-6299 ext. 107
Dean brings more than 20 years of sales experience to The Pioneer newspaper. A graduate of the University of Calgary with degrees in Physical Education and Education, Dean worked as an educator in Alberta before moving to Invermere to pursue a career with Fairmont Resort Properties, and now The Pioneer. Away from the office he loves spending time with his wife and two sons, golfing, playing poker and working out. Dean is here to assist all of our valued clients with their promotional needs.
dean@columbiavalleypioneer.com

Editor
Lorene Keitch
250-341-6299 ext. 110
Lorene Keitch moved to the Columbia Valley in 2015 with her husband and two kids. She loves the valley lifestyle and is excited to be back in the newsroom.
lorene@columbiavalleypioneer.com

Magazines Editor/Reporter
Steve Hubrecht
250-341-6299 ext. 104
Steve Hubrecht arrived in the Columbia Valley after working for newspapers in Fernie, B.C., and Beijing, China. He spends as much time outside as possible – if he’s not at the Pioneer office, he’s probably spending time outdoors with his family. He grew up in southern Ontario and graduated with an MA in Journalism from the University of Western Ontario in 2006.
steve@columbiavalleypioneer.com

Reporter
Erin Knutson
250-341-6299 ext. 106
Erin Knutson started her journalism career at the Pioneer as an intern and has now returned as a full-time reporter. She has a keen interest in politics, human rights, environmental and Indigenous issues.
erin@columbiavalleypioneer.com

Advertising
Amanda Nason
250-341-6299 ext. 108
Amanda brings more than 20 years of advertising and business experience to the newspaper. Amanda can tailor an advertising plan to meet your business needs. When she’s not at the office, she can be found supporting local events throughout the community and rooting for the home team at every Rockies game.
advertising@columbiavalleypioneer.com

Graphic Designer
Emily Rawbon
250-341-6299 ext. 102
Emily Rawbon is a talented production guru/graphic designer who moved to the Columbia Valley in 2006 after spending seven years at the Canmore Leader and the Banff Crag & Canyon newspapers. A graduate of the advertising/administration program at Durham College in Oshawa, Ontario, Emily migrated west and enjoys the many recreational opportunities available in the Valley.
emily@columbiavalleypioneer.com

Office Administrator
and Classified Sales

Amanda Murray
250-341-6299 ext. 101
Got a boat to sell or a cheers to share? Call Amanda, our office administrator and classified sales representative.
amanda@columbiavalleypioneer.com

Most Read