Columbia Valley Pioneer staff

Columbia Valley businesses were in the spotlight last week during the 24th annual Business Excellence Awards hosted by the Chamber of Commerce at Radium Hot Springs Centre on October 19.

The gala recognized numerous businesses and entrepreneurs for their standout performance throughout the year.

Winning Businessperson of the Year (sponsored by Panorama Resort) was Stephan Gale from Radium Brewing.

Columbia Valley Freight won Business of the Year (16-plus employees). This award was sponsored by Horsethief Creek Pub & Eatery.

Earning the Business of the Year award (1-15 employees) was DevTel Communications. McDonald’s was the award sponsor.

Invermere Health Care Auxiliary won Non-profit/Association of the Year (sponsored by The Columbia Valley Pioneer).

New Business of the Year (sponsored by Avail CPA) was won by SC2 Strength.

Landon Dales from River Craft earned the Youth Entrepreneur of the Year award, sponsored by Aspire Professional Corporation.

The honours of Employer of the Year was given to Aisling Baile Inc., sponsored by SkiHome

Kristina Hann from Blooming World won Employee of the Year, sponsored by Bosley’s by Pet Value.

Toby Creek Adventures was recognized for Tourism Impact, sponsored by Travel Columbia Valley.

The Environmental Stewardship award went to Cleanline Automotive, sponsored by Columbia Valley Community Foundation.

Black Star Studios won the Community Builder award, sponsored by Triptician.

The People’s Choice Awards for Outstanding Customer Service went to Four Points Books, sponsored by Shenanigans on 12th.

(Photo by Justin James)

Deanna Berrington,

Communications & Member Events Coordinator

What a party! The 24th annual Business Excellence Awards were a smashing success! We can’t say thank you enough for all the help we received to make this year as fantastic as it was! A huge thank-you for the volunteers who kept things running smoothly and the prosecco flowing (provided by Invermere Liquor Store). Special shout-out to the Rockies for providing a safe ride for anyone who needed it, and cheers to Pharmasave for their emergency toiletries in the bathroom. Palliser Printing graciously supplied the programs, and weren’t they lovely this year? 

We also can’t thank our major sponsors enough – without them, it wouldn’t have been so successful: Avenue Modern Clothing, College of the Rockies, Columbia Basin Trust, and Home Hardware.

We can’t wait to do it all again next year – the excellence of the Columbia Valley continues to shine! 

(Photo by Justin James)

Award categories

• Community Builder

This award honours a business, non-profit or organization that actively pursues community involvement and betterment as a core tenant of their business activities in the valley.

• Environmental Stewardship

This award honours a business that demonstrates leadership in sustainable business practices and acts as a steward of environmental awareness within our region.

• Outstanding Customer Service – People’s Choice

This award honours a business that is a leader in providing exceptional customer service. The winner of this award will be decided by public voting!

• Tourism Impact

This award honours a business that has excelled at making the valley a premier travel destination by providing a tourism experience worth shouting about!

• Employee of the Year

This award honours an individual, team or department that demonstrates exceptional commitment to the growth & betterment of their business, serves as a positive example and are viewed as a Superstar to their employer.

• Employer of the Year

This award honours a business that demonstrates a commitment to a healthy workplace culture and employee prosperity through professional development, advancement opportunities and employee recognition. 

(Photo by Justin James)

• Youth Entrepreneur of the Year

This award honours an individual (25 years old or younger) who demonstrates initiative, exceptional entrepreneurial skills, significant community engagement and a passion for creating their own path in business. 

• Businessperson of the Year

This award honours an individual who is the founder, owner, CEO, President, or Senior Executive of a company who displays a significant commitment to the success of their business and serves as a leader or model for other businesspeople in our region.

• New Business of the Year

This award honours a new business (opening after January 1st, 2022) that has achieved outstanding business performance in a short period of time, demonstrates exceptional promise of continued growth and a commitment to the community.

• Non-Profit/Association of the Year 

This award honours a non-profit organization or association that is providing outstanding contributions to our region through community improvement, inspiring & mobilizing others and effectively promoting their mission.

• Business of the Year 

This award honours a business that demonstrates continual business excellence through positive business growth, displays a commitment to the community exemplifies superior customer service and embraces an outstanding commitment to quality.

(Photo by Justin James)