In March, the Columbia Basin Trust announced its new Board of Directors, which, once again, includes three individuals very well-known in the Columbia Valley.

Reappointed to the Board were RDEK Area F director Wendy Booth from Fairmont Hot Springs (for a three-year term) and former Panorama Montain Resort president and CEO Rick Jensen from Cranbrook (also for a three-year term), who was appointed Vice Chair.

Booth currently sits as the Vice Chair of the Regional District of East Kootenay and is currently serving in her first term on the Union of British Columbia Municipalities executive.

Jensen is currently a director and Board Chairman of New Dawn Developments Ltd., a large construction development company in the East Kootenay.

Also remaining on the board is Chair and Jumbo Glacier Resort mayor Greg Deck from Radium Hot Springs.

Deck, the first mayor of Radium Hot Springs (having served for 18 years) is a founding director of the Trust, a director of Columbia Power Corporation and a director of Columbia Basin Broadband Corporation.

Overall, the board welcomed five new directors: Larry Binks from Creston (two-year term); John Dooley from Nelson (three-year term); Loni Parker from Revelstoke (two-year term); Vickie Thomas from the aq’am   community (two-year term); and Jeannette Townsend from Valemount (two-year term).

“We wish to welcome our new Board members and thank all departing members who have helped bring the Trust to our current position of strength,” said Deck. “It’s not easy finding the right combination of skills and personal attributes that allows us effectively to serve residents and oversee our investments and delivery of benefits to our communities — and we’ve been lucky to benefit from such a team both in the past and moving forward.”

Rounding out the 12-member Board are director Gord DeRosa from Trail (two-year term), Laurie Page from Nakusp, Kim Deane from Rossland and Am Naqvi from Nelson, all of whom are returning board members.

For more information about the Board, and to read highlights and minutes from Board meetings, visit